Home to Home Regatta 2017


For several consecutive years in the second half of the last century a Home to Home Regatta was hosted by Richmond County Yacht Club and Sheepshead Bay Yacht Club. Members of yacht clubs in the area participated and enjoyed the racing and camaraderie. For unknown reasons the regatta was discontinued. It was revived in 2011 in a form that is hosted by Richmond County Yacht Club and Miramar Yacht Club. This will be its Sixth year. This year the format is the reverse of last year’s; the race will run from West to East. The race is meant as a fun event with friendly competition between racers.

On Saturday, August 12th, 2017, the race will start in the in the vicinity of the Great Kills Harbor Bug Light. Richmond County YC will provide the starting Race Committee. Committee Boat -36ft Chris Craft trawler named SaBaba skippered by Cy Farkas. Registration and Skippers meeting will take place at Richmond County Yacht Club Friday August 11th at 19:00.

The race will finish near Sheepshead Bay Channel GC1. An awards dinner will be held at the Miramar Yacht Club on Saturday evening, August 12th. In order to encourage participation at the dinner and awards ceremony boats participating from yacht clubs that are outside of Sheepshead Bay will be provided with free guest moorings that night. There are a limited number of moorings available; those yachts that choose to anchor also will be provided launch service by MYC. The MYC launch monitors channel 68.

Home to Home Regatta Entries and starting sequence.

# Skipper Name Boat Class Sail# Color PHRF Club Start Time Division Finish Time Place
Joe Vega Star Dust S2 7.3 73 White 234 MYC 13:00:00 N-Spinnaker 4:19:55 9
Gary Tlili Asylum Catalina TS 30 575 White 189 MYC 13:08:00 N-Spinnaker DNS
Andrew Shabalin Obsession C&C29 590 White 183 MYC 13:09:00 N-Spinnaker 3:39:42 2
Timothy Mahoney Loose Canon Beneteau 39 28 White 168 RCYC 13:11:00 N-Spinnaker 4:17:31 8
Mike Friedman Sea Dragon Sabre 362 S362 White 153 MYC 13:14:00 N-Spinnaker 4:23:42 10
Felix Pustilnik This is it C&C36 30724 White 138 MYC 13:16:00 N-Spinnaker 3:34:00 1
Leonid Gurevich Magic Dragon Irvin Citation39 101 White 123 RCYC 13:19:00 N-Spinnaker 4:10:09 7
Tom Governo Koru Catalina 44S 82 White 120 RCYC 13:19:00 N-Spinnaker 4:06:27 5
Arnon Ben Avi Zephyr Sweden 38 41479 White 108 MYC 13:21:00 N-Spinnaker 3:52:45 6
John Ferrante Libra Hunter 41 H42137 White 108 RCYC 13:21:00 N-Spinnaker 3:47:42 3
Ted Winand Done Hunter AC 44 CoorsLight White 108 RCYC 13:21:00 N-Spinnaker 5:08:02 11
Jay Basillote Remedy Jeanneau 35 43917 White 90 RCYC 13:24:00 Spinnaker 3:32:06 2
Keith London Scooch Over Corsair F31 257 White -4 RCYC 13:39:20 Spinnaker 3:28:59 1

Race Committee report

All boats were in great shape at the start. Unfortunately, ASYLUM weren't at the start. All boats finished. No protests files. Great race, fine time.

Official Results

Non Spinnaker:

1st Place   THIS IS IT  Skipper Felix Pustilnik

2nd Place OBSESSION  Skipper Andrew Shabalin

3rd Place LIBRA Skipper John Ferrante


1st Place   SCOOCH OVER   Skipper  Keith London

2nd Place  REMEDY  Skipper Jay Bassilote

Arcive: 2016