Home to Home Regatta


For several consecutive years in the second half of the last century a Home to Home Regatta was hosted by Richmond County Yacht Club and Sheepshead Bay Yacht Club. Members of yacht clubs in the area participated and enjoyed the racing and camaraderie. For unknown reasons the regatta was discontinued. It was revived in 2011 in a form that is hosted by Richmond County Yacht Club and Miramar Yacht Club. This will be its Sixth year. This year the format is the reverse of last year’s; the race will run from east to west. The race is meant as a fun event with friendly competition between racers.

On Saturday, August 13th, 2016, the race will start in the in the vicinity of the Sheepshead Bay Channel. Miramar YC will provide the starting Race Committee. Dr. Gerald Borell will commandeer a committee boat DANA.

The race will finish near Great Kills Harbor Bug Light. An awards dinner will be held at the Richmond County Yacht Club on Saturday evening, August 13th. In order to encourage participation at the dinner and awards ceremony boats participating from yacht clubs that are outside of Great Kills harbor will be provided with free guest moorings that night. There are a limited number of moorings available; those yachts that choose to anchor also will be provided launch service by RCYC. Please note that this is a rain or shine event. No rain date is planned. No refunds will be given after yachts have registered. In the event the race is cancelled, RCYC will still conduct the party as outlined in the schedule of events.

Home to Home Regatta Entries and starting sequence.

  Skipper Name Crew Boat Class Sail# Hull Color Adj. PHRF Club Start Time Division PHRF min
1 Andrew Shabalin 2 Obsession C&C29 590 White 183 MYC 13:00 N-Spinnaker 0
2 Patrick ConCannon 3 Fiddlers Green Pearson 30 819 Green 180 RYC 13:01 N-Spinnaker 1
3 Robert Bohnenberger 2 Passion C&C 29 543 White 180 RCYC 13:01 N-Spinnaker 1
4 Tim Mahoney 2 Loose Cannon Beneteau 39 28 White 165 RYC 13:03 N-Spinnaker 3
5 Spiro Carraas 3 Houligan C&C31 13228 Blue 144 MYC 13:07 N-Spinnaker 7
6 Irv Shapiro 2 Delicious C&C35 11829 Green 135 MYC 13:08 N-Spinnaker 8
7 Tom Alessi 3 Andiamo C&C 36   Blue 138 RYC 13:08 N-Spinnaker 8
8 Tom Governo 2 Koru Catalina 445 82 White 117 RCYC 13:11 N-Spinnaker 11
9 Ignacio Zapiola 4 Fanky Melges 24 32 White 111 MYC 13:12 Spinnaker 12
10 John Ferrante 2 Libra Hunter 42 42137 White 108 RCYC 13:13 N-Spinnaker 13
11 Arnon Ben Avi 3 Zephyr Sweden 38   White 108 MYC 13:13 N-Spinnaker 13
12 Jay Basillote 4 Remedy Jeanneau35 43917 White 90 RCYC 13:16 Spinnaker 16
13 Keith London 2 Scooch Over Corsair31 257 White -10 RCYC 13:33 Spinnaker 33

Dr. Gerald Borell's report

The race is over. There were 13 boats competing in two divisions: 10 in Non Spinnaker and 3 in Spinnaker.
The starts went off with out a hitch. The wind was good; the current was against the boats initially and then with them the rest of the race.
Then the problem began when the wind died and the boats that started later caught up to the ones that started earlier.
MYC had 5 boats (one Spinnaker), RCYC had 5 boats (2 Spinnaker) and Rockaway Point YC had 3 boats.
Because the fast ones caught the slow boats when the wind stopped blowing, the Non Spinnaker winners were boats with a low PHRF.

Official Results

Non Spinnaker: 1st Koru, 2nd Libra, 3rd Loose Cannon

Spinnaker: 1st Scooch Over, 2nd Remedy, 3rd Fanky