Home to Home Regatta


For several consecutive years in the second half of the last century a Home to Home Regatta was hosted by Richmond County Yacht Club and Sheepshead Bay Yacht Club. Members of yacht clubs in the area participated and enjoyed the racing and camaraderie. For unknown reasons the regatta was discontinued. It was revived in 2011 in a form that is hosted by Richmond County Yacht Club and Miramar Yacht Club. This will be its Sixth year. This year the format is the reverse of last year’s; the race will run from West to East. The race is meant as a fun event with friendly competition between racers.

On Saturday, August 11th, 2018, the race will start in the in the vicinity of the Sheepshead Bay Channel. Miramar YC will provide the starting Race Committee. Committee Boat DANA, Tartan 26, skippered by Dr. Jerry Borell. Miramar will have free guest moorings available to those participants who wish to deliver their boats to Sheepshead Bay on Friday afternoon or evening. There are great restaurants near the MYC clubhouse. The MYC launch monitors VHF channel 68 (use low power and call the launch when entering Sheepshead Bay).

Warning. Sandbar by Kingsborough College tower has expanded over the years. Exercise caution entering Sheepshead Bay channel  gate Green GC"7"-R"6". Stay away from Green#7 and closer to Red#6

The race will finish near Great Kills Harbor Bug Light (N40°30.935’ W74°08.356’). An awards dinner will be held at the Richmond County Yacht Club on Saturday evening, August 11th. In order to encourage participation at the dinner and awards ceremony boats participating from yacht clubs that are outside of Great Kills  harbor will be provided with free guest moorings that night. There are limited number of moorings available; those yachts that choose to anchor also will be provided launch service by RCYC. The RCYC launch monitors channel 9; call on low power when you are in the Great Kills Harbor Channel.

# Skipper Name Boat Class Sail# Hull Color Adj. PHRF Club Division
1 Joe Vega Star Dust S2 7.3 73 White 234 MYC N-Spinnaker
2 Travis Ruse Blue Dolphin Catalina 30 MK II 4939 White 195 MYC N-Spinnaker
3 Andrew Shabalin Obsession C&C29 590 White 183 MYC N-Spinnaker
10 Keith London Katfish Alerion 28 X 257 White 162 RCYC N-Spinnaker
4 Mike Friedman Sea Dragon Sabre 362 S362 White 153 MYC N-Spinnaker
5 Felix Pustilnik This is it C&C36 30724 White 138 MYC N-Spinnaker
8 Andrew Martin Flying Squirrel J 80 26 White 126 RCYC Spinnaker
7 Tom Governo Koru Catalina 44S 82 White 120 RCYC N-Spinnaker
6 John Ferrante Libra Hunter 41 H42137 White 108 RCYC N-Spinnaker
9 Boris Evelkin Uragan J 40 40 Blue 83 MYC N-Spinnaker
11 Alston VanPutten ColTrane Contour 34 9798 White -5 MYC N-Spinnaker

Home to Home Regatta Entries and starting sequence.

Race Committee report


Official Results


Archive:  2016  2017